How to check the applications connected to your Google and Facebook

Are you a regular or powerful user of Google tools? Did you use your Google account to sign in to third-party applications? How often do you send quizzes sent by your friends on Facebook? Or, as with Google, have you used your Facebook account to log in to third-party applications or websites?

Finally, are you alarmed by the recent news on social media companies violating privacy? In addition to strict password hygiene and two-factor authentication or simply eliminating these companies, you can take another step for extra security by periodically controlling apps. / module / website that you have allowed access to your Google and Facebook accounts.

Below, we show you how to review, test, calibrate and delete connected applications from your Google and Facebook accounts.

The application is connected to Google

Suppose over time, you use your Google account to log in to third-party applications. Even if you can recall this, many times you've won even realized that you were giving the application access to your Google account.

Here are instructions for Google Google:

Remove third party access

Now, let's explore how to track and delete these Google connected apps. Sign in with your Google Account with a web browser.

At the top right of the screen, you will see your profile picture. Click it, and then click My account.

This My Account page includes a number of modules such as security, privacy and preferences; It is well worth looking into, especially Security check Magician.

For the purpose of this article, look down on the left below Login & Privacy and choose The application has account access.

On The application has account access page, click Application management To get a complete list of connected applications.

Notice how Google groups connected apps, showing them first 3th The sidebar app has access to your account. Under 3th sidebar app, you'll see a list of apps that Google trusted to have access to.

Now check these lists for unfamiliar applications or that you are no longer using. Click on one of the applications. Here you will see the details, including when the application is licensed and its access level. To remove it, click Delete access.

Google will then display a popup explaining that you are removing app access to your account, and to use this app or service again, you'll need to grant access. Click OK and Google clears app access and removes it from the list.

Continue to remove access for all applications you do not actively use. And remember that if you need to reuse third-party apps or Google apps you've deleted, you just need to authorize again.

The application is connected to Facebook

Many website logins require new users to log in with Facebook. In addition, if you have used many of the popular shared game and puzzle apps on Facebook, these apps also access your personal information. Facebook stands out in the news now because of the way this data is being abused. In response, Facebook may soon simplify its privacy settings. But for now, this is the current way, it's not easy to check and delete these Facebook-connected apps.

After logging into Facebook, pull down the button / arrow at the top right of the Facebook screen. This will expose your Facebook account and other features. Near the bottom of this list, select Setting.

On the Facebook General account settings page, scroll down and select Application and website in the left menu.

The next page shows the Facebook applications that have been granted account access, through the ways discussed above. These range from interesting applications like Words with Friends to automatic integration like If This Then That (IFTTT) and productivity applications like Hootsuite.

You can easily delete apps completely by checking the box on the right and selecting Eraser as shown above.

If you select one or more applications and click delete, you will see another dialog. Here, note the additional checkbox options that mention the previous activity. Consider whether or not to instruct Facebook to also delete previous posts made by the application. So for example, if you use IFTTT to automatically post to Facebook any item posted on Blogger, you may still want the previous posts to remain.

Some other important notes here. Once deleted, the app or website will no longer have access to your information, but they will still be able to retain previously shared information. If the app or website has your email address, you can definitely unsubscribe online to stop email in the future, but you'll need to contact the app or website developer directly to ask if there's Your information is not.

Facebook makes it easy for users to contact the application developers, by selecting Report / Contact bottom right when you click on the application. Therefore, if you are concerned, you may first want to use this contact tool before deleting the application.

Edit Facebook app privacy settings

Also note that Facebook allows users to specify the degree to which each connected application is allowed. So even after completely deleting an app, consider accessing and changing the privacy settings for each of the remaining apps. How it is here.

For one of the applications, click View and edit.

First, check The visibility of the application, which means who on Facebook will be able to see that you use this application. For this visibility, you can choose from Public, Friend, Friends except acquaintances, Only me or Custom.

Even more importantly, check out the personal information provided to the application. For many applications, a public profile may be required, but other information such as your Facebook friends list, birthdays, hometowns and email addresses may be unchecked. In addition, most of the time, no application is required to access your pages or manage your business.

So cut access for each application or remove them completely. Once deleted, you will no longer see this app or website in your list of apps connected to Facebook.

Congratulations on bringing some small levels of privacy control into the ongoing privacy wars we all face when using social media. Please let us know any comments or questions. Enjoy!